News & Events
The Abdus Salam ICTP, its T/ICT4D Laboratory: Focus on China
Release time:March 28, 2018

Topic:The Abdus Salam ICTP, its T/ICT4D Laboratory: Focus on China

Date:April 3, 2018  at 14:30

Venue:B707, New Main Building

Speaker:S. M. Radicella, Head of ICTP Telecommunications/ICT for Development Laboratory (T/ICT4D)


A brief introduction of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) will be given. The Centre, located in Trieste, Italy, is the only Category 1 institute of the UN Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), working under a tripartite agreement between the Italian Government, the International Atomic Enery Agency (IAEA) and the UNESCO. Then, a summary of the activities of the Centre in support of science in the People's Republic of China will follow. The past and present activities of the T/ICT4D Laboratory will be introduced with particular attention to the ionospheric modelling efforts done by the Laboratory that gave rise to one of the most used model in the international scientific community, the electron density global model NeQuick. Finally, Chinese scientist’s interest on this model will be indicated, taking into account the number of papers that illustrate the use of this model in China.

Bio of the Speaker:

Sandro M. Radicella is the head of the Telecommunications/ICT for Development Laboratory (T/ICT4D) of the Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP). He has published about 140 papers in the fields of aeronomy and radio propagation. Among other research topics, he developed models of ionospheric electron density in collaboration with colleagues from ICTP and the University of Graz, Austria. He has organized a series of training activities in the fields of Ionosphere Physics and Applications, Radio communications and ICT that he directs at the ICTP since 1989. He was awarded with the Doctor Honoris Causa degree from the University of Bucharest, Romania in 2001, and the Doctor of Science degree Honoris Causa from the Obafemi Awolowo University in Ile-Ife, Nigeria in 2005. In 2014, he received the Award of Fellowship of the African Geophysical Society.

School of Instrumentation Science and Opto-Electronics Engineering