News & Events
10th Anniverary Celebration of Beihang AERO-Segway Formula Racing Team Held
Release time:December 24, 2019 / Zhao Yue

On Dec.14, the 10th Anniverary Celebration of Beihang AERO-Segway Formula Racing Team was held in the Main Building of Shahe Campus. Yan Jianlai, Deputy Secretary-General of SAE-China and Secretary-General of Formula Student China (FSC), Chen Gang, Director of the FSC, Wang Yunpeng, Vice President of Beihang University, Wang Shuo, Senior Investment Manager of Beihang Investment Co. Ltd. and relevant leaders from the Youth League Committee and the School of Transportation Science and Engineering, participated in the celebration together with representatives of sponsor companies, Tsinghua University, Beijing Institute of Technology and other universities, as well as teachers and students from Beihang University, totaling more than 270 people.

In his opening remarks, Wang Yunpeng expressed warm congratulations to all the teachers and students of the team, and gave heartfelt thanks to the organizing committee and sponsor companies of FSC for their strong support. He said that Beihang has always attached great importance to the cultivation of students' scientific and technological innovation capabilities. As one of the most unique technology practice platforms in Beihang, the team has cultivated more than 100 outstanding talents for the university and the Chinese automotive industry in the past ten years. He hoped that the team will continue to move forward and achieve better results.

Yan Jianlai and Chen Gang then gave their speeches on the achievements of Beihang AERO-Segway team in the past few years and the development history of FSC, respectively. As the chief engineer of the 2019 season electrical system and the winner of the 16th Challenge Cup National Special Award, He Yuan, a student from the School of Biomedicine and Enginnering, shared the gains since he joined the team three years ago, and thanked Beihang for its support in technological innovation, engineering practice management and team operations on behalf of all team members. Xiao Hong, Secretary of the Youth League Committee, and Yang Shichun, Dean of the School of Transportation Science and Engineering, jointly presented plaques for the sponsors and thanked them for their help and support.

During the technical exchange, teachers and students from Tsinghua University, Beijing Institute of Technology, Beijing Jiaotong University, and Beijing Vocational College of Electronic Science and Technology shared the key technologies in electric formula and unmanned driving. Besides, the chief engineer of AERO-Segway Formula Racing Ream in the new season introduced advanced technologies on wheel side reducer assembly and the control strategy of four wheel drive electric vehicles.

The event ended with a closing speech by Lin Haiying, the coach of the AERO-Segway Formula Racing Team, and the chorus "Sincere Heroes" by all team members.

Officially established in 2009, Beihang AERO-Segway Formula Racing Team is one of the founding teams of FSC. It has participated in the competition for ten consecutive years and achieved excellent results. It now has developed to be a domestic first-class team with interdisciplinary features.

Reported by Dong Chenglin

Photographed by Zhao Shujun

Reviewed by Wu Jianghao

Edited by Jia Aiping

Translated by Zhao Yue

Recommended News