News & Events
Professor Zhang Hui Elected IEEE Fellow 2024
Release time:November 30, 2023 / Zhuo Yuzhu

Recently, Zhang Hui from the School of Transportation Science and Engineering of Beihang University has been elected Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) for 2024 in recognition of his outstanding contributions to automotive electronic systems.

IEEE is an international association of electrical technology and information science engineers with more than 420,000 members from more than 160 countries. IEEE Fellow, the highest ranking member of the association, is the highest honor awarded by the organization. The honor is conferred only on eminent scientists with exceptional contributions in the progress or application of engineering science and technology, and bring great value to society. Every year, less than 0.1% of its members worldwide are elected Fellows.

Zhang Hui is a professor and doctoral supervisor in the School of Transportation Science and Engineering, and also a national high-level young talent. He has long been engaged in special vehicle design, vehicle dynamics control and intelligent driving related research work, and presided over a number of projects such as international cooperation projects of the National Key R&D Program and joint key projects of the National Natural Science Foundation Committee. New products such as high-performance multi-axis distributed drive unmanned chassis, amphibious unmanned platform, air-ground collaborative control platform, and intelligent driving assistance system have been developed and applied in many industries. He has published more than 150 SCI journal papers (including more than 80 IEEE journal papers, and won the IEEE Journal Annual Paper Award twice), more than 60 authorized invention patents, and two monographs. He won the first prize of Scientific and Technological Progress Award of the Society of Automotive Engineers of China, the first prize of Scientific and Technological Progress Award of China Communications and Transportation Association, the first prize of Natural Science Award of Jilin Province, the first prize of Invention Award of China Machinery Industry Federation, and the second prize of Beijing Teaching Award. He was honored with IEEE IES Early Career Award, SAE International Teetor Education Award, and Outstanding Youth Award of the Society of Automotive Engineers of China. He serves as Vice Chairman of the IEEE IES Industrial Information Physical Systems Technical Committee, Co-chairman of the Society of Automotive Engineers International (SAE International) Intelligent and Connected Vehicle Technical Committee, and Editorial Board Member or Associate Editor of IEEE TIV, IEEE TIE, MSSP and other famous journals.

Reviewed by: Li Jianwei

Edited by: Jia Aiping

Translated by: Zhuo Yuzhu

Recommended News