News & Events
Professor Chen Yuli Wins Chinese Young Women in Science Award
Release time:April 30, 2024 / Han Xu

Professor Chen Yuli from the School of Aeronautic Science and Engineering received the 19th Chinese Young Women in Science Award at an award ceremony for young female scientists in Beijing, April 28, 2024. The award was presented to only 20 individuals and five teams this year.

Chen Yuli, a professor and doctoral supervisor at Beihang University, serves as the director of the Aircraft Structural Strength Department at the School of Aeronautic Science and Engineering. Boasting the National Outstanding Youth Science Fund and a Young Changjiang Scholar awarded by the Ministry of Education, she also serves as the director of the National Aerospace Experimental Teaching Demonstration Center and a leader of the Aircraft Strength and Structural Integrity Discipline. Her research focuses on multiscale composite mechanics and the design of novel material structures. She has been awarded the first prize (ranked 1) of the Natural Science Award and the Young Science & Technology Award of the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics, the first prize (ranked 1) of the Beijing Education and Teaching Achievement Award, and the second prize (ranked 1) of the National Teaching Achievement Award.

Currently, Chen holds academic positions such as the vice secretary-general of the Chinese Society of Theoretical and Applied Mechanics and a member of the Terminology in Mechanics Working Committee. She serves as an associate editor for international journals such as Composites Part A and Forces in Mechanics, and an editorial board member for periodicals and magazines including Chinese Journal of Theoretical and Applied MechanicsActa Mechanica SinicaActa Mechanica Solida Sinica (in Chinese)Acta Aeronautica et Astronautica Sinica Chinese Journal of Applied MechanicsNano Mater Sci, and Curr Mech Adv Mater.

The Chinese Young Women in Science Award is jointly organized by the China Association for Science and Technology, the All-China Women’s Federation, and the National Commission of China for UNESCO. The award is conferred annually to female scientists who have made outstanding contributions to scientific research and technological innovation at the cutting edge of their respective fields.

Reviewed by: Li Jianwei

Edited by: Jia Aiping

Translated by: Han Xu

Recommended News